How to find us?


Address: 47 Ailesbury Road, Ballsbridge Dublin D04P224, IRELAND

more »

Tel. +353 1 203 5737, +353 1 203 5757
Fax +353 1 283 9354

Government, politics

Created: 2014.03.20 / Updated: 2014.07.28 14:22
Lithuania is an independent democratic republic with a multi-party parliament. Our state's legislative power is vested in the Seimas (as we call our Parliament), the executive - in the Government. Lithuania’s foreign policy is carried out by the President and the Government.

The President’s term of office in our country is 5 years. The President is elected by all citizens of Lithuania who are over 18 years of age. The President can be elected for no more than two consecutive terms. Currently, our country is led by the seventh head of state after the Restoration of Independence and the first woman President - Dalia Grybauskaitė.

Dalia Grybauskaitė, the first woman to be elected President of Lithuania. Besides, she has a black belt in karate. Photo: Dž. G. Barysaitė

Seimas – is the name of our parliament, supreme legislative body. Seimas is a unicameral parliament with 141 members who are elected in direct and secret elections for a 4 year term. The first sitting of the Seimas after the elections is opened by the eldest member of the Seimas.

The Government is composed of Prime Minister, acting as its head, and a cabinet of 14 ministers – the country’s executive body.

Lithuania is a multi-party republic. The most popular parties in Lithuania are Social Democrats and Homeland Union - Lithuanian Christian Democrats.

More about Lithuania: The Official Gateway of Lithuania


Subscribe to our newsletters